Graduate Board

Graduate Board is responsible for providing strategic direction to all matters relating to postgraduate researcher (PGR) education.

The Board is chaired by the Dean of the Leeds Doctoral College and is responsible for implementing policy and regulations through the Leeds Doctoral College, Faculty Graduate School Committees and Directors of PGR Studies. The Board monitors and reviews all arrangements for research degrees and aspects of a candidature.

Admission, progress, examination and a decision regarding the award of the degree also fall within the remit of the Graduate Board. Postgraduate researchers are represented on the Board and on Faculty Graduate School Committees.

Terms of reference

Graduate Board is responsible for providing strategic direction to all matters relating to postgraduate researcher (PGR) education, making recommendations to Senate, Council and University Executive Group (UEG) as required.

It operates to:

  1. formulate and implement policy and procedures with regard to all research degrees and higher doctorates, including those offered in collaboration with other institutions, or by other institutions whose research degree programmes are accredited by the University of Leeds; 
  2. oversee the administration of all research degrees governed by Ordinance X, and higher doctorates governed by Ordinance XII, in consultation with the Taught Student Education Board where taught modules form part of a research degree programme;
  3. oversee the strategic development of the Leeds Doctoral College, including Faculty Graduate Schools, Doctoral College Operations and other bodies or units as appropriate;
  4. ensure, working with and through the PGR Recruitment Group, the effective recruitment and admission of PGRs;
  5. ensure, working with and through the PGR Programmes and Quality Group the maintenance of quality and standards for research degree programmes; to consider, and approve where appropriate (a) amendments to the regulations for research degrees, (b) the introduction of new programmes of study and (c) amendments to programmes of study; and to recommend to the Senate amendments to Ordinances arising from any of the above actions;
  6. delegate authority to the PGR Examinations Group to (a) ratify examination results for research degrees and higher doctorates and to award such degrees and (b) confer them in absentia, where requested by the candidate;
  7. identify, promote and facilitate innovative approaches to skills development and training and to oversee this through the PGR Development Steering Group;
  8. oversee, working with the Group on Scholarships, Studentships and Prizes (GSSP), the PGR Pricing and Scholarships Sub-Group, and the Steering Group on Doctoral Training Grants, scholarship and funding matters relating to PGRs, including strategic intelligence relating to Research Councils and other external sponsors, and to determine and implement policy on University-funded scholarships for PGRs;
  9. oversee all matters relating to the needs, welfare and achievements of PGRs and to support PGR activities in consultation with other bodies (including Leeds University Union) where appropriate;
  10. communicate with Taught Student Education Board and the Research and Innovation Board where issues of common interest are concerned and to send representatives to both these Boards. 

Membership of the Graduate Board

Chair: Dean of the Leeds Doctoral College Claire Honess 

Ex officio: the Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Research and Innovation Lisa Roberts

Ex officio: Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Student Education Tom Ward 

Ex officio: Pro-Dean International Bill Murphy

The Head of Faculty Graduate Schools (who will also be the Chair of the Faculty Graduate School Committee):

  • Arts, Humanities and Cultures: Mic Spencer
  • Biological Sciences: Alan Berry 
  • Business: Nick Williams (Acting Head)
  • Education, Social Sciences & Law: Stuart Lister 
  • Engineering and Physical Sciences: Richard Hall (Engineering) and Stuart Barber (Physical Sciences)
  • Environment: Pippa Chapman
  • Medicine and Health: Paul Marshall

Two LUU representatives:

  • Ex officio: the Education Officer of the University Union  Abiha Khan
  • A PGR Representative to be appointed by LUU* TBC 

Four elected members:

(i) Election by members of the Faculties of two members of the Graduate Board: 

Ana Manzano-Santaella (2018-21)


(ii) Election by members of the Senate of two members of the Senate: two vacancies

Representative of the Taught Student Education Board:  Kelvin Tapley

Chairs of the Groups/Committees of the Board

PGR Examinations Group: Ingrid Sharp (2016-20)

PGR Programmes and Quality Group Group: Amanda Waterman (2019-22)

Group on Scholarships, Studentships and Prizes: Richard Hall (2014-19)

Representatives from Accredited Institutions

1 representative of York St John University: Margaret Wood

1 representative of Leeds Trinity University: Martin Barwood

Service Representation

A representative from ODPL   Tony Bromley

Director of Student Operations   Catherine Lorigan

Head of  Doctoral College Operations  Vicky Burrett (Acting Head)

Head of Doctoral College Programmes   Christina Robinson

Head of Research Support and Digital Libraries   Claire Knowles

In attendance

Faculty Graduate School Manager   In rotation

Postgraduate Engagement Officer   Simon Sandison

Dates of Meetings and Venues 2019/20

Monday 14 October 2019 10.00 am 
Council Chamber, Marjorie and Arnold Ziff Building 

Monday 02 December 2019 10.00 am 
Council Chamber, Marjorie and Arnold Ziff Building

Monday 17 February 2020 10.00 am 
Council Chamber, Marjorie and Arnold Ziff Building

Monday 20 April 2020 10.00 am 
Council Chamber, Marjorie and Arnold Ziff Building

Monday 15 June 2020 10.00 am 
Council Chamber, Marjorie and Arnold Ziff Building