Student Education Service teams

Contact details and responsibilities for our Student Education Service teams.

Download the SES management team poster.

Admissions

Head of Admissions: Lisa Summers
Email: l.a.summers@adm.leeds.ac.uk

Deputy Head of Admissions: Graham Rees
Email: g.d.rees@adm.leeds.ac.uk

Deputy Head of Admissions: Sofia Hepworth
Email: s.c.hepworth@leeds.ac.uk

Taught admissions team

Key Contact: Debbie Senior

 

Taught Admissions Team responsibilities

 

Admissions enquiries team

Manager: Sarah Whiteley
Key Contact: Katie Tucker

Admissions enquiries team responsibilities

Taught admissions policy and qualifications

Manager: Anya Wright
Email: busaw@leeds.ac.uk

Taught admissions training

Manager: Jenny Gibbison
Email: admissionstraining@leeds.ac.uk

International Pathways Centre

Key contacts for admissions

International pathways centre responsibilities

Language Centre

Key contact for admissions: Lorna Riley
Email: langc@leeds.ac.uk

Language centre responsibilities

Incoming Study Abroad Admissions Team (Study Abroad Office)

Manager: Liz Simpson
Email: studyabroad@leeds.ac.uk

Incoming study abroad admissions team responsibilities

Lifelong Learning Centre Admissions Team

Key contact: Michelle Lotherington
Email: lifelonglearning@leeds.ac.uk

Lifelong learning centre admissions team responsibilities

Faculty admissions teams

Faculty admissions team responsibilities

To find a faculty admissions team key contact, view the contact us section of the relevant course page on Coursefinder.

Faculty admissions managers

Faculty admissions managers responsibilities

Arts, Humanities and Cultures: Dave Baldwin and Helen Dyson
Biological Sciences: Paul Matthews
Business: Sue Waterson
Education, Social Sciences and Law: Sue Haines
Engineering: Becky Whitaker
Environment: Lynsay Thomas
Mathematics and Physical Sciences: Helen Linyard
Medicine and Health: Louise Tomenson

 

 

Doctoral college

Head of Doctoral College Operations: Rachel Cox
Email: R.Cox@leeds.ac.uk (currently on maternity leave. Please direct all queries to Vicky Burrett who is covering her role. Email: v.burrett@leeds.ac.uk).

 

Responsibilities:

 

  • PGR admissions
  • PGR operations and policy, eg assessment, programme support, student support

Head of Doctoral College Programmes: Christina Robinson
Email: c.robinson@adm.leeds.ac.uk

 

Responsibilities:

 

  • PGR programme approval
  • Quality assurance and committee support

 

Educational Engagement

Head of Educational Engagement: Louise Banahene
Email: L.Banahene@adm.leeds.ac.uk
General email: educationoutreach@leeds.ac.uk

Responsibilities: widening participation by working across the UK with schools and colleges to raise awareness of, and aspirations towards, higher education.  Includes outreach, Access to Leeds, financial support and student success programmes at undergraduate and taught postgraduate level.

Faculty Education Service Managers (FESMs)

Arts, Humanities and Cultures: Cathryn Reardon
Social Sciences: Jenny Hamlin
Environment: Terry Owens
Engineering and Physical Sciences: Terry Owens
Biological Sciences and Medicine and Health: Claire Smith
Leeds University Business School: Laura Clarke

Find out more about our faculty teams

Learning enhancement

Head of Learning Enhancement: Isobel Whitehouse
Email: I.J.Whitehouse@leeds.ac.uk

Learning Enhancement Team: LE-Apprenticeships@leeds.ac.uk

Responsibilities: overseeing and supporting educational development to meet external organisations’ skills gaps, including higher and degree apprenticeships.

Leeds Institute of Teaching Excellence (LITE)

Leeds Institute of Teaching Excellence (LITE) 

Head of Learning Enhancement: Isobel Whitehouse
 
Institute Manager: Katie Livesey
 
General Email enquiries: LITE@leeds.ac.uk

 

Programmes and assessments

Head of Programmes and Assessment: Louise Powell
Email: L.E.Powell@leeds.ac.uk

Assessment, award, exams and progress

Manager: Rachael Howden
Email: examinations@leeds.ac.uk and rp_examinations@leeds.ac.uk

Timetabling

Manager: David Dixon
Email: timetable@leeds.ac.uk

Student and curriculum records

Manager: Jill Williamson
Email: j.n.williamson@adm.leeds.ac.uk

Responsibilities:

Counter services and international student advice

Manager: Renato Pallassini
Email: ssc@leeds.ac.uk

Tier 4 Policy and Support

Manager: Ros Harrison
Email: R.Harrison1@leeds.ac.uk

Graduation and events

Manager: Sharron Murphy
Email: graduation@leeds.ac.uk

Faculty based colleagues

 

Quality assurance

Head of Quality Assurance: Jenny Lyon
Email: j.a.lyon@leeds.ac.uk
General enquiries email: qat@leeds.ac.uk

Quality assurance responsibilities

Student careers

Head of Student Careers: Jane Campbell
Email: j.h.campbell@leeds.ac.uk or careerscentre@leeds.ac.uk

Central Services

Manager: Jess Henderson (Assistant Head of Student Careers)
Email: J.E.Henderson@leeds.ac.uk

Responsibilities:

  • Training and Development
  • Employability Network
  • Frontline Careers Centre Team provides careers information and advice to students and graduates
  • Online resources

Data, systems and quality team

Manager – Andy Blunt
Email - A.Blunt@leeds.ac.uk

Central administration and curriculum team

Manager – Caroline Shingles
Email- c.shingles@leeds.ac.uk

Business start up (Spark)

Head of Business Start Up – Kairen Skelley
Email: k.skelley@leeds.ac.uk

Incubation Manager – Brian Baillie
Email: b.r.baillie@leeds.ac.uk

Responsibilities: Spark student and graduate business incubator, start up visa, student business start up advice, Entrepreneurs Exchange

Project officers:

 

Faculty based colleagues

Faculty employability teams oversee the delivery of faculty bespoke information, advice and guidance.

Team leads:

  • Arts, Humanities and Culture Faculty Team Lead: Laura Bird
  • Biological Sciences Faculty Team Lead: Annabelle Cross
  • Medicine and Health Faculty Team Lead: Annabelle Cross
  • Business School Faculty Team Lead: Caroline Williams
  • Environment Faculty Team Lead: Caroline Williams
  • Social Sciences Faculty Team Lead:  Sarah Wenham
  • Engineering and Physical Sciences Faculty Team Lead: Su Maynard

All engineering enquiries to: employability@engineering.leeds.ac.uk
All Maths and Physical Sciences enquiries to maps-employability@leeds.ac.uk

 

Student finance

Head of student finance: Abi Shearsmith
Email: a.shearsmith@adm.leeds.ac.uk

Student fees and cashiers

Manager: Sarah Fabron
Email (for undergraduates): ugfees@leeds.ac.uk
Email (for postgraduates): pgfees@leeds.ac.uk

Student fees responsibilities

Cashiers' responsibilities:

  • Take payments from staff and students
  • Allocate all incoming bank credits and pay staff advances, expenses and foreign currency orders

Student funding

Manager: Alison Jackson
Email: funding@leeds.ac.uk

Student funding responsibilities

Student placement

Head of Student Placement: Greg Miller
Email: g.d.miller@adm.leeds.ac.uk

Assistant Head of Student Placement: Emily Timson
Email: e.j.timson@leeds.ac.uk

Responsibilities: Volunteering, Students into Schools, Work Placement Team and Leeds for Life. Leeds for Life is an online platform promoting a wide range of co-curricular opportunities including volunteering, the Leeds for Life Foundation and the Leeds Network all with the aim of developing transferable skills.

Undergraduate research

Manager: Rebecca Shaw
Email: r.l.shaw@adm.leeds.ac.uk

Employer engagement

Manager: Glenys Hastings
Email: employerteam@leeds.ac.uk

International employer engagement

Manager: Jan Spalek
Email: j.spalek@leeds.ac.uk

Study Abroad

Manager: Ben Oldham (Outgoing Study Abroad Manager)
Email: outgoingstudyabroad@leeds.ac.uk

Manager: Liz Simpson (Incoming Study Abroad Manager)
Email: studyabroad@leeds.ac.uk

Manager: Lisa Beare (Summer schools Study Abroad Manager)
Email: summer@leeds.ac.uk

 

Student support

Head of Student Support: Chris Warrington
Email: c.j.warrington@adm.leeds.ac.uk

Disability services

Manager: Simon Morris (Assistant Head of Student Support)
Email: disability@leeds.ac.uk

Student counselling and wellbeing

Manager: Jane Harris (Assistant Head of Student Support)
Email: scc@leeds.ac.uk

International student office

Manager: Katy Manns
Email: internationalstudents@leeds.ac.uk

Student Support works closely with:

  • LUU Help and Support
  • Chaplaincy
  • Transcription Centre RNIB
  • Leeds Student Medical Practice

Faculty based colleagues

Student Support Functional Management team